Daddy Diaries Entry #1

Being a dad isn’t as easy it sounds. I knew that even before you were born. I didn’t know the specifics but I somehow got the idea of what fatherhood entailed.

I have quite the temper and one thing that was very difficult for me to do was to hold it in and not blow up. The first few days was tormenting. Not because you were a handful but because I had to adjust to being more patient and understanding fast while very sleepy.

Every morning after a “hard day’s night”, I would find myself sitting down and contemplating about how I “exploded” again the night before. Feeling remorseful, I would immediately make it up by spending the rest of the day with you, playing, cuddling, and laughing. Little by little I became more calm during times that you were fussy or when you got your “drama queen” on just before bed time. I realized that you wouldn’t stay this small forever and that soon I wouldn’t even be able to carry you in my arms anymore. I thought this one Sunday morning while the yaya was away and your mom was in the shower. I had you in my arms, dancing you around. Unexpectecdly, I felt tears build up at the corners of my eyes. I hugged you tight and gave you a peck on your warm cheeks. I promised to myself that I would revel in and cherish the moments of you being this beautifully small now – playful, angry (hungry — hangry), happy, and innocent. Thank you for continuously teaching me to become a better dad to you and a better husband to your mother.

Mommy and I love you very much, Riley…

Leave a comment